Boo!

Halloween is about here. To me it is the celebration for young kids. I love seeing those (not so) scary decoration items that people put around their homes. People bought candies in preparation to give away on the Halloween night (and for themselves too πŸ™‚ ). Β Hearing young kids sweet voice saying “Trick or Threat” and seeing them in costume are so delightful. Β It is such a joy.

Halloween Decorating Item - Boo!

The happy Mr. Jack O Lantern and the cute Ghost (and a bat too).

Halloween - Scarecrow

I am not sure crows will be scared by this cute scarecrow. I wouldn’t.

Halloween - Skeleton needs help

I feel this skeletor needs help getting up from being buried too deep in the ground. Β Too bad, I was handful πŸ™‚

Halloween - Angry bird pumpkins

These are my favorites pumpkins – Angry bird characters.

Halloween - Lester

Poor Lester who is not in peace.

Halloween - Forgotten staff

A witch must have forgotten her staff.

Happy Halloween Everyone!

41 thoughts on “Boo!

  1. mixedupmeme October 26, 2013 / 8:26 am

    I never bought a costume when I was a Halloweener. The fun part was making your own costume with whatever mother would let us have. My own kids did the same. The stores have had Halloween stuff in them since the last of August. It’s about time for the Valentines to show up now. πŸ™‚

    Yes, it’s for the kiddos. But I have had post teens at the door. 😦

    Like

    • YellowCable October 26, 2013 / 8:43 am

      I think that is a good thing. I believe kids are motivated. The motivation is a good cause for creativity and fun πŸ™‚

      About stores start selling early season items, yes I think the early start gives the store long sale cycles. Good for the business.

      Me too, the door to door trick or treat is for kiddos πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. nutsfortreasure October 26, 2013 / 4:52 pm

    Love your post! Always my favorite holiday πŸ™‚ I thought about doing one just like yours as we passed through a town with a Scarecrow in the front of most businesses and they were dressed in the way of their companies they do it each year and they are so creative. Then the next town I came too they were doing a Sat. afternoon trick or treat at EVERY BUSINESS so many children thousands and so much candy YIKES very cute costumes too In 27 years in my home I have never had not one child come down past the graveyard and knock at my door in the woods 😦 miss that part so today I got my fill. Loved your post!

    Like

    • YellowCable October 26, 2013 / 6:10 pm

      That is too bad that no kids come to your home. I can understand why too.

      Thank you Eunice that you like the post πŸ™‚

      Like

      • nutsfortreasure October 26, 2013 / 7:08 pm

        Loved it! Yes I never buy candy figure if they showed up I would pass out CASH for being BRAVE to come past the dark cemetery πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Gallivanta October 26, 2013 / 8:23 pm

    What fun Halloween decorations in your area. Nothing like that here though sometimes a few children will come Trick and Treating.

    Like

    • YellowCable October 27, 2013 / 7:18 am

      Oh, I am surprised that the tradition is not popular there. Thank you Gallivanta.

      Like

  4. suzywordmuser October 27, 2013 / 11:43 am

    Such colourful pictures – really brightens these Autumn days!! The bright ones are lovely, wouldn’t scare the little ones! But the skeleton and the grave stone creepies could be a little alarming if you just weren’t paying attention or you walked into them in the dark!! 😯 And the skull on the stick – aaaahhhh!!!!
    Great pictures though, certainly sums up Halloween in your neighbourhood! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • YellowCable October 27, 2013 / 4:54 pm

      Thank you Suzy!

      For those a little bit scary ones I boosted them up by a tiny bit by B&W. The color versions are also not so scary. Hehe πŸ™‚

      Like

    • YellowCable October 27, 2013 / 4:56 pm

      Wow, I did not know that Lester actually was a real person. I also did a search on him as well. Thank you for the the link to your blog too.

      Like

    • YellowCable October 28, 2013 / 6:34 pm

      Me too that I am not into real heavy scary stuff. These decorating items are very kid level (although I made few of them a bit more scarier about half a notch). Thank you.

      Like

  5. ventisqueras October 31, 2013 / 3:52 am

    Γ¨ giusto che sia cosΓ¬, una festa per i bambini! immagini, quelle festose molto deliziose…le altre macabre mi lasciano perplessa, lontane dalle nostre tradizioni italiane
    foto tutte bellissime:
    da noi si dice
    Dolcetto o scherzetto?

    πŸ™‚
    It is rightly so, a party for kids! pictures, those very delicious festive … other macabre leave me puzzled, far from our Italian traditions
    all beautiful picture:
    from us they say

    Like

    • YellowCable October 31, 2013 / 7:08 am

      Thank you. I personally do not quite like those real scary masks people wear as well πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Sous nos Couettes October 31, 2013 / 3:54 am

    Very nice pics !

    Thanks for your interest in β€œSous nos Couettes”. We’re now following your blog.

    If you want to sharpen your international sense of humor, we do also have an English version called β€œTails from Paris” : http://tailsfromparis.wordpress.com/.

    Thanks for sharing if you enjoy it too …

    Here is our FB page : https://www.facebook.com/sousnoscouettes

    We’re also on Twitter :
    https://twitter.com/sousnoscouettes
    https://twitter.com/tailsfromparis

    Best from Paris, France

    Alix, Roxane & their bald, bold & funny (at least he pretends to …) Dad

    Like

  7. gomachan15 November 3, 2013 / 1:29 am

    Another wonderful series of pictures. When I was in Seattle, I was surprised that even adults wear funny or scary costume on that day to celebrate. I love your pictures as well as your comments below those. Quite nice job, YellowCable!!

    Like

    • YellowCable November 3, 2013 / 5:43 am

      Yes, the adults do also wear various kinds of costume. I do not think the usually come to your door and try to get candies. I only see them wear costumes in the office on that day.

      Thank you gomachan15!

      Like

  8. munchow November 5, 2013 / 5:25 pm

    Great pictures that captures the spirit of Halloween. I had to smile all to the end of the post. Really a fun post!

    Like

    • YellowCable November 5, 2013 / 9:07 pm

      I am really glad that you had fun with them. Thank you!

      Like

  9. BeWithUs November 19, 2013 / 9:20 am

    Gosh…how cool is that semi-buried skeleton?? Love it! Cheers~ πŸ˜€

    Like

    • YellowCable December 16, 2013 / 4:57 pm

      Thank you. I am glad you like them πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. WordsFallFromMyEyes January 18, 2014 / 11:00 pm

    It’s funny that girl scarecrow. Doesn’t scare me either. Too cute!

    Like

    • YellowCable December 29, 2015 / 4:51 pm

      πŸ™‚ Glad that it does both πŸ™‚ Thank you.

      Like

    • YellowCable October 15, 2016 / 3:52 pm

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Halloween is not far now. I have not seen many decorations around yet this year.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

