Fun at SPARKcon 2013

I have heard of SPARKcon activities for awhile but I have not had a chance to see what they are all about. I did not have any interest about the event when I first heard of it a few years back.  I thought it was just some artists getting together and have their works displayed. There are many art show events around the area every now and then and thought this event just like others. I just left it at that.

This year, I happened to be in the area at night and did not expect the event took place early on.  Although there are no activities by most of the artists at the time except for performances but their works were there.  I learned one of the SPARKcon activities was artists came to create and showed their works live at the event.  Their works are incredible. I was impressed. I changed my early thinking about the event and wished I could see these artists early on and watch them creating the works.  Perhaps that is for next year. These are few bits from SPARKcon 2013.

This is the first piece of work that came across. She was my first impression. She was beautiful. The snake around her neck is a colorful accessory though I am a concern of its squeezing her neck 🙂

SPARKcon 2013 first lady

This is a view of canvas the SPARKcon artists put their work down.

SPARKcon 2013 - Long street arts

Beautiful long rainbow hair lady.

SPARKcon 2013 - Rainbow hair lady

Lively Octopus.

SPARKcon 2013 - Octopus

The mid way along the Fayetteville street hosted live performances where people circled around to watch. Kids and adults were enjoying the show.

SPARKcon 2013 - Street peformings

There was not much of a private back stage. The lovely lady was preparing to take the stage (street) next.

SPARKcon 2013 - Performer prepared for the show.

The performers just finished their turn.

SPARKcon 2013 - Performers walked out.

I am not sure what the role this man at the event but he stood there and kept people out of the way for the performers. He spot me with my camera and gave me a good pose for the photo.

SPARKcon 2013 - Guard?

These audiences enjoyed the events their own way…

SPARKcon 2013 - Fun along the side.

Another photog was getting some shots of the show.  He was more serious than  me.

SPARKcon 2013 - A photog.

People enjoyed the art works on the street.  I like how the young lady holding a form box and was trying to take a picture at the same time.

SPARKcon 2013 - People enjoyed art works.

You can also ride around in this. Looks like fun to get on one.

SPARKcon 2013 - Riding tour

I walked pass one of the restaurants on Fayetteville street. The menu looks interesting.

SPARKcon 2013 - Restaurant menu.

Some people must got there by bicycles.

SPARKcon 2013 - Bicycle parking.

I think I froze these people.

SPARKcon 2013 - Frozen

A SPARKcon sign

SPARKcon 2013 - Sign

This is how a restaurant keeps the chairs at night.

SPARKcon 2013 - Chairs.

This one isn’t related to the event. The object was just interesting to me.

SPARKcon 2013 - Fire hoses

I hope you have a bit of fun with me 🙂

43 thoughts on “Fun at SPARKcon 2013

  1. adinparadise October 5, 2013 / 11:48 am

    Fabulous colours. I’m sorry for those people with their heads chopped off. 😀 The pavement art is so amazing. What a lot of talent at this show. 🙂

    Like

    • YellowCable October 5, 2013 / 4:42 pm

      Oh no! I innocently chopped of those people’s heads 😦

      Like

  2. cindy knoke October 5, 2013 / 2:11 pm

    What a fabulous post! Full of visual interest, colors, vibrancy and fun! Bravo & happy Saturday!

    Like

    • YellowCable October 5, 2013 / 4:43 pm

      Thank you Cindy and please have a wonderful weekend too!!!

      Like

  3. Ralph October 5, 2013 / 6:55 pm

    Hi YC 😀 It seems you had a great evening. My highlight was the performing fire hydrant 😉 Ralph xox 😀

    Like

  4. Gallivanta October 6, 2013 / 3:15 am

    What a fun event. Looked like lovely weather for it, too.

    Like

    • YellowCable October 6, 2013 / 7:35 am

      It was fun. I wished I went there during the day. But the weather at night was much nicer and it was much less crowded. Thank you.

      Like

  5. loralorapa October 6, 2013 / 5:47 pm

    Waouh 🙂 tout ça donne vraiment envie 🙂
    J’aime beaucoup les déguisements et les peintures eu sol 🙂

    Like

  6. suzywordmuser October 7, 2013 / 12:40 pm

    These are fascinating photos, and such colourful art!! 🙂 We have street artists in the city where I live too, some are amazing, but I don’t think anyone has done a proper event yet, they should really, great way to advertise your art! Thanks for taking me on the trip to the event! 😀

    Like

    • YellowCable October 7, 2013 / 6:43 pm

      I am glad you like the little trip to the event. I hope they organize similar event in your area some day. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  7. BeWithUs October 8, 2013 / 12:20 pm

    Thank you so much for this update…this event looked very interesting and filled with wonderful colours!

    Have a lovely day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

    Like

    • YellowCable November 19, 2013 / 8:46 pm

      I am sorry that I missed your comments. Thank you for your comments. Please have a lovely week ahead.

      Like

      • BeWithUs November 25, 2013 / 9:29 am

        No worries!! You’re welcome and thank you for your lovely blessings!! Cheers~ 😀

        Like

  8. Charlotte Hoather October 8, 2013 / 3:50 pm

    Fabulous pictures. Love the rainbow hair and the snake, maybe I could sing with a snake draped not wrapped around my neck that would be spectacular :0

    Where is NC State?

    Charlotte 😉

    Like

    • YellowCable October 8, 2013 / 7:13 pm

      I am so sorry 😦 The NC State is one of the states in the United State.

      I am glad you like the pictures. Singing with snake wrapped around anywhere would not be good in my opinion 🙂 Thank you.

      Like

    • YellowCable October 8, 2013 / 7:35 pm

      Hi Charlotte. I think I still did not get right. One more time and my apology. NC is North Carolina, USA.

      Like

  9. ventisqueras October 10, 2013 / 3:48 am

    quello che giustifica la crescita dell’essere umano è nel potere cambiare le proprie opinioni,
    ogni tipo di arte comporta delle geniali espressioni
    bellissima questa vostra galleria
    grazie e felice giornata Ven

    what justifies the growth of the human being is in power to change their opinions,
    every kind of art involves of smart expressions
    beautiful this your gallery
    thanks and happy day

    Like

    • YellowCable October 10, 2013 / 7:12 pm

      Thank you very much and please have a good weekend!

      Like

  10. munchow October 10, 2013 / 10:51 am

    Looks like SPARKcon was a fun and inspiring event. You pictures are lovely and give an idea what it was. A great post!

    Like

  11. gomachan15 October 16, 2013 / 5:05 am

    Splendid series of pictures of the event. As far as I remember, there is the same kind art event in Seattle. The most interesting point is that pictures are drawn on the road. I wonder what is ‘summer roll’.(I know ‘spring roll’, but not ‘summer roll’)

    Like

    • YellowCable October 16, 2013 / 7:38 am

      Thank you that you like them. That is good to know there is this kind of event in other places too.

      I think summer roll is the kind that is freshly wrapped (not fried) with fresh vegetables. I do not know much about food and I am probably wrong here.

      Like

  12. KOH  October 18, 2013 / 9:16 pm

    It’s FUN DAY~wonderful !!

    Like

  13. Elizabeth MacDonald October 25, 2013 / 1:03 pm

    Loved your comment on this photo: “Another photog was getting some shots of the show. He was more serious than me.”

    Like

  14. Kavita Joshi November 11, 2013 / 12:52 am

    looks like so much fun…nice pics and thanks for sharing all this with us

    Like

    • YellowCable November 11, 2013 / 6:50 am

      Thank you and I am glad you like the them 🙂

      Like

  15. inesephoto December 14, 2014 / 12:53 pm

    So generous are the people who share their art knowing that it won’t last long. It makes me smile just to think that these wonderful artists are somewhere there in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • YellowCable December 14, 2014 / 4:58 pm

      Me too, just see their beautiful works. I would like to see them drawing those.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

