There you are!

This is an American green tree frog. I recall seeing them only a couple of occasions at night. They came to get their evening meal (those insects flying around the lamp). I am quite sure they are out there more often than I can count. I do not like to go out and check things out at night (I am afraid to run into another kind of fellow that has no leg and also loves to eat frogs).

This time was not even at dusk yet and this fellow showed up. He must have heard about this 4 star rated restaurant and wanted to make sure he has a good sitting place or perhaps he had a date and wanted to show his date that he was punctual.  For me, I do not really plan to make any profit out of the restaurant for tree flog population nearby but I was glad to meet this early bird customer during the day time. He was patiently waiting and did not make any fuss or sound. The best part to me was he did not mind me taking pictures of him.  He simply hung there smiling happily at me. In return, I gave him and his date to dine without any charges. Good deal 🙂

27 thoughts on “There you are!

  1. bone&silver May 12, 2017 / 10:24 pm

    I don’t wanna boast but… ours are as big as our hands here in Oz! 😉

    Like

  2. Sonyo Estavillo May 12, 2017 / 11:42 pm

    Great photo! It’s hard to get a good shot of animals in general. I used to have a water frog but he didn’t make it very long because I had too many critters and fish and etc in with him. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • YellowCable May 13, 2017 / 6:14 am

      Thank you!

      You are right. They are hard to take pictures especially from those non-captive ones. They move around doing their business, too small to get close enough, too scared of you and run away before you blink, or I am too scared of them 🙂

      Oh, that was too bad that your frog did not last long.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sonyo Estavillo May 13, 2017 / 2:07 pm

        I didn’t know how to care for my froggie, but I now have a beta fish and an apple snail in the tank and they are good friends! 😊 Yes, it’s hard taking photos of little critters, so a big 👍🏽 to you! ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  3. wakasahs15th May 13, 2017 / 5:25 am

    It is splendid photograph(^^♪  It was good that you could encounter an American green tree frog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • YellowCable May 13, 2017 / 6:04 am

      Thank you, Wakasahs15th san. I like to meet them more often. I do not recall have seen one this year yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ron Walker May 13, 2017 / 8:28 am

    That is a great picture. They can hold on surprisingly tight. Long years ago we had company over to entertain. We heard a scream, then the wife shuttled past the doorway, of the hall with a small green glob attached to her derriere, it was a tree frog. How he got in the toilet is anyone’s guess unless our son who was 5 had something to do with it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • YellowCable May 13, 2017 / 9:22 am

      Thank you Ron. That is a funny story 🙂 I guess you learn the strong holding force from trying to pull the little fellow off your wife ..

      Like

  5. Inger May 24, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    What an adorable little visitor! I had no idea frogs would do this – I always imagined they would be hiding in grass or in a pond:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • YellowCable May 24, 2017 / 6:54 pm

      I think these are the kind that comes out away from water. I am still not sure where they are from.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

