Banana Leaves

I have just recently heard a joke. “What was Beethoven’s favorite fruit?”.  The answer is “Banananaaaaaa!” (symphony #5).  I thought it was funny. That reminds me that I have few banana leaf pictures. It is also the summer time where banana trees thrive with fresh green leaves.

Banana leaves are quite useful and they are still used in certain parts of the world where banana trees thrive year round. They are good for food wrappers (so natural), serving plates or decorating. Bananas are good for you too. The “Banana Leaf” is also a common restaurant name. I went to one in CA and probably more in other places too.

For me, I like the yellowish green color of the leaves when they are young and turn deeper green as the leaves get older. They are signs of summer for me. Too bad, this year summer has just passed its peak. This year was mild and pleasant in particular.

Banana Leaf - 1

A second look at the leaf.

Banana Leaf - up

A bit of closer.

Banana leaf texture

I hope you enjoy your summer time where you are. I know for some, this is not summer (it is strange to think about it). These banana leaves can help warm you up 🙂

40 thoughts on “Banana Leaves

  1. SuzyHazelwood August 30, 2014 / 9:29 pm

    I can hear that Beethoven song in my head Banananaaaaaa!!! Very Good! 😀 Those banana leaves are very bright, and pretty huge I guess. I’ve never seen a banana tree in real life, only on TV. Are banana trees growing where you are, or were these taken when you were on your travels? The last one is interesting, it looks like a piece of material!

    This is very timely (bananas) because I’ve been eating more fruit recently, and especially a banana each day, and I think they have the power to help with fluid retention. I’ve been getting fluid retention in my ankles and feet in the last year, not sure why – maybe my age, (no spring chicken any more!) or the fact that I sit for too long a time. I’ve never suffered from it before. I don’t like medication that deals with fluid retention, as over time it can be harmful to various nutrients in the body, so I’ve not taken anything for it. But very recently it has massively reduced the fluid retention, almost completely gone ever since I’ve been eating bananas. Someone else told me that a relative of theirs had discovered the same some years ago. So – maybe, bananas have some undiscovered healing properties! I wonder what would happen if I ate the leaves – or maybe they’re a bit too tough – better for plates?!! 😀

    Like

    • YellowCable August 31, 2014 / 7:17 am

      I am glad you like the joke too. I do not think this banana tree was a big one. It was from around here. I am surprised that banana tree even exist around here. I believe can also see people selling small ones at the farmer market or at the local garden (Duke Garden – https://gardens.duke.edu/). I do not know how they keep them survive winter time there. They can grow in a bit down south (e.g. in Florida).

      These leaves are bright probably because of the light was behind them, I believe. These were taken for quite some time now. I do not remember quite how I did 🙂

      I looked up about it and you are right banana can help with the symptom. I am trying to have a banana day too. It is a good source of potassium which helps with high blood pressure and among other things. As you age (and I am no young age), the blood pressure trend to slowly creeping up. The modern day works trend to be doing work by sitting at the desk all day long. This does not help 😦 I am glad to hear that the condition is reduced now 🙂 Do not eat banana leaves! I think they are bitter and tough, use them as plate is a good a idea 🙂

      Thank you.

      Like

  2. Gallivanta August 30, 2014 / 11:28 pm

    Banana leaves are very useful and your photos are beautiful.

    Like

    • YellowCable August 31, 2014 / 7:21 am

      Thank you Gallivanta 🙂 I read up on them and see a good number of how they are used. I hope people who can get to them continue to use them instead of replacing them with artificial way. Of course, if they are used for the aroma then that will be no alternative for now 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. anotherday2paradise August 31, 2014 / 8:13 am

    Love the joke, YC. Whenever I hear that piece of music, I will remember it. 🙂 Fabulous close-ups of the banananaaaa leaves.

    Like

    • YellowCable August 31, 2014 / 9:08 am

      Thank you 🙂 The tune sticks a bit in my head too 🙂

      Like

  4. The Passion Dew August 31, 2014 / 3:41 pm

    Indeed, especially in Asia,they are really useful, from fruit to trunk tree. I ❤ banana …
    The texture from banana leave are superb! Amazing photo shot!

    Like

    • YellowCable August 31, 2014 / 5:01 pm

      The banana trees are amazing.. You are right, the tree trunks are also useful. Thank you!!!

      Like

  5. Thailand Everyday September 1, 2014 / 7:37 am

    Great pictures. Didn’t see your blog on banana leaves. Great stuff.

    Like

  6. Otto von Münchow September 1, 2014 / 9:14 am

    Fun joke about Beethoven’s fifth. And so appropriate for this post. I love the close-ups of the banana leave. And I really love how you have been able to captured in so differently. Beautiful!

    Like

  7. LadyPinkRose September 2, 2014 / 8:38 pm

    Now everytime I eat a banana I will think of Beethoven and leaves. These photos are quite interesting. The color is not quite anything I have seen locally here and I was fascinated when you showed the closeup of the third picture with perfect lines. How truly incredible Nature is. I eat bananas every day you know, YellowCable, so every day I will be thinking of you and this post. (smile) Love, Amy

    Like

    • YellowCable September 2, 2014 / 8:42 pm

      Nature is always fascinating (and keep me wonder at the same time too).

      I am glad to hear you like banana and have them everyday. They are good for you.

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  8. Ralph September 3, 2014 / 4:54 am

    Hi YC 😀 I have a banana every day. Great photos of the leaves 😀

    Like

    • YellowCable September 3, 2014 / 7:36 pm

      Thank you Ralph. Banana is good for you but don’t go banana 🙂

      Like

  9. Pride in Photos Photography September 3, 2014 / 6:21 am

    After living in Florida, and witnessing hundreds of them in our subdivision, I am not a fan. They are the messiest trees around. But the baby fruit that comes from them is divine☺

    Like

    • YellowCable September 3, 2014 / 7:39 pm

      I know what you mean. They grow in bunch together and they can look quite messy. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. ventisqueras September 7, 2014 / 3:13 am

    qui da noi in Italia gli alberi di banana sono molto rari, nel sud, in Sicilia, e in qualche località marina di vedono ed anche maturano i frutti, per questo forse ho fatto festa alle tue bellissime foto…ed anche per la battuta musicale ha ha
    ben ritrovato amico, felice di salutarti dopo la mia lunga assenza dal blog
    un sorriso
    Ven

    here in Italy we have banana trees are very rare in the South, in Sicily, and in some places see and marina also ripen fruits, so maybe I did feast to your beautiful photos … and also for the musical joke ha ha

    Welcome back dude, happy to say good-bye after my long absence from the blog

    a smile

    Like

    • YellowCable September 7, 2014 / 7:52 am

      Thank you like the joke and the photos. I am also happy to see you’are back. Welcome back.

      Grazie come la battuta e le foto. Sono anche felice di vedere si torna. bentornato.

      🙂

      Like

  11. inesephoto September 15, 2014 / 7:54 pm

    I nominate you for a One Lovely blog award. If you have no time for this, it is OK, no worries. I just want the other bloggers to know about your wonderful blog. Thank you for your great work!

    Like

  12. cindy knoke September 17, 2014 / 4:55 am

    Oh how synchronistic, Beethoven is playing right now as I type in Switzerland……Baa-naa-naa-na-naa!! Laughing, love the banana leave info too. Cheers to you~

    Like

    • YellowCable September 17, 2014 / 6:47 am

      Oh, amazing..random synchronized events. His favorite fruit sounds good 🙂 Thank you Cindy!

      Like

    • YellowCable September 18, 2014 / 7:44 pm

      Thank you and I am glad you like the texture and the color!

      Like

  13. Dina October 1, 2014 / 4:59 am

    Great joke! 🙂 The close-ups of the banana leafs are stunning, well done.
    Greetings from Bonn, the hometown of Beethoven
    Dina

    Like

    • YellowCable October 1, 2014 / 7:06 pm

      That is awesome that you are from the hometown of Beethoven 🙂 Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

